Skip to content

F3.15 Friday’s Favourite Finds

January 28, 2013

Investing more time in reviewing the knowledge of my network has paid off this week! 

1. Every working day, I am reminded of the exhausting battle to simplify processes rather than give into the habits of complication and non-cooperation.  Even a process that seeks to simplify copyright can get a bit confusing.  Check out this great infographic on how to attribute Creative Commons photos if you’re still struggling with when-to-use-what.

2. Over the past year or so, I have enjoyed watching Harold Jarche continue to refine and redevelop his perspective on collaboration and cooperation.

3. Building on last week’s theme, I was pleased to find this piece from Harold about starting to work out loud, in which he gives very concrete and non-threatening ways to start participating in networked learning and narration.  I also appreciate Ross Dawson’s comments on why microblogging is so easily adopted:

“Most employees initially view social software as additional effort on top of heavy workloads, so have no interest in activities such as blogging that they think will be time-consuming. Contributing to a microblog takes minimal time so is an easy starting point, yet people can quickly see the benefits.”

4. I appreciate the effort part because I believe that’s the #1 hurdle that underlies resistance to networked knowledge practices in my organization.  What I don’t get, personally, is the benefits part.  I was going to start ranting about how disruptive I find MS Lync to be and then I thought, “wait a minute, that’s instant messaging.  What’s the difference between instant messaging and microblogging?”  Thankfully, the first hit to that question on Google led me to this nifty little chart.

Okay, so instant messaging is fairly private, two-way and not trackable or searchable.  If I had Yammer or a similar internal microblogging mechanism in my workplace, that might be helpful…but then I would have to build a following again, which may duplicate or be independent from my contact lists on email, LinkedIn, Twitter, SharePoint and my blog.  This is getting lame.  How many bloody accounts do I need to setup, password protect and monitor in a day?  Remember how much effort I’m putting into not getting overwhelmed by this stuff?

5. Working out loud on communication is harder than you might think.  Thanks to Julian Stodd for this piece.

6. I spent more time on Twitter last week than I have in a long time and was grateful to find Jarche rocking the foundations yet again:

“My perspective on budgets is that there should not be one for L&D to control. It creates false distinctions between learning and work. The 70:20:10 guideline is for the organization and those who control resources. If we have an L&D department we automatically think that we have to have L&D problems to solve. Training is too often a solution looking for a problem.”

Oh my, yes.  

“Work for change or change your work” – Stephen Clarke Blue morpho on green

2 Comments
  1. Hi brainysmurf – I am catching up on a lot of my online reading this weekend. It has been a while since I have caught up with your posts. Thanks for linking the CC infographic – it is a very clear representation of the licences! Sounds like you are very busy with your work and understand completely the need to do F3 posts when you can 😀

    • Hi, Rae, thanks for making time for this response. I’m glad you found the CC infographic to be helpful. This is the first I’ve been on my blog in quite some time so it was really nice to find your comment awaiting me. Hope your catching up was time well spent. 🙂

Please share your thoughts here...

