Skip to content

F3.8 Friday’s Favourite Finds

November 28, 2012

This week, I (re)discovered enchantment with the little things.

On Monday, I noticed that I feel a sense of recognition and relief every time I read Jane Hart’s work.  It’s as though a burden is being been lifted from my professional shoulders, one blog post at a time.  The best way for me to describe my evolving role is to trade in hand-holding and controlling for encouraging people to explore, risk and fail.   The next day, I read about Jane’s participation in the development of a capability map for learning professionals.  One of her Tweets read:  C4LPT: #chat2lrn q4) Biggest new skill is letting go – not trying to organize and manage everything for everyone – and become an advisor, enabler.”  Thanks, Jane, that’s just what I was trying to articulate!

On Monday evening, I took the dog for her last outing of the night and discovered that large snowflake clusters were falling from the sky at just the right angle to inspire a decades-old practice of catching them on my tongue as I was walking.  It was delightful and has made me smile all week.

On Wednesday morning, I met my neighbour’s billets: two young girls and their chaperone who are visiting from Uganda.  When I let them know that it was going to snow that day, their faces lit up brighter than the pink winter jackets they were wearing.  Whatever they’ve been told about snow so far must make it seem magical to them. That was my second reminder this week that the white stuff doesn’t have to be seen as a hassle.

Later that day, I coached a self-proclaimed luddite to modify the titles of two documents that she had already posted on SharePoint and forwarded to the team.  The modification that I recommended cut the hyperlinks in half (an important technical consideration), which required her to go back to the team and share the new links*, along with an explanation for the change.  More importantly, this action gave her a chance to risk and fail slightly, learn from it and then share her learning with others.  That’s not luddite behaviour; that’s openly narrating work.  With more models and examples like this, we have hope for becoming a more coherent organization.

This afternoon, I enjoyed Jarche’s post on Working in the dark, which described how transparency is at the heart of better knowledge management.  Though I could have found his post directly on his website, through a newsfeed or an aggregate newsletter, I discovered it through a colleague’s update on LinkedIn.  I am realizing that the effort of sharing seems minimal to those of us who practice networked learning and monumental to those who have resisted “the duty of being transparent in our work”.

What’s enchanted you this week?

* I know, I know, SharePoint updates can be shared through automatic alerts.  My organization is not ‘there’ yet.

 “Work for change or change your work” – Stephen Clarke

2 Comments
  1. You make me giggle. *We are SO not there yet! Waiting for the day when “no” becomes a part of my vocabulary again (end of acting, one way or the other, March 31).
    Like the way Jarche referenced Nick Charney too 🙂 Thanks for hooking me up with the latter. Enjoying CPS Renewal. Felt disappointed when his crowdsourcing turned charity fundraiser fell through. Didn’t want my contribution back 😦
    Keep fighting the good fight with integrity and grace!

    • Sorry to hear Nick’s fundraiser didn’t work out. Integrity and grace sound like great mantras for the year ahead, thanks for that and right backatchya. 🙂

Please share your thoughts here...

