Skip to content

The wonder of Wordle

April 26, 2012

I’m guessing that my fellow moocers in #change11, #cck12 and #ds106 are already familiar with the word clouds generated by Wordle.  Admittedly, they are starting to be overused in PowerPoints and can be an eyesore if done poorly.  However, I found a legitimate business reason to turn to Wordle yesterday.

I was analysing the client service competency profiles of two dozen public service organizations this week, trying to find some commonalities.  I copied and pasted the relevant sections of their websites into a word document, thinking that I would boil it all down somehow.  Then it struck me: could I copy about 20 pages of text into Wordle and see what happens?

Sure enough, a cloud of 150 words was born.  Though it’s not perfect (it treats service and services as two separate terms), I was able to pick out from this cloud a handful of common actions, concepts and descriptors that I could offer to my clients as starting points for instructional design.  It only took a few minutes to transform mounds of raw data into a useful little summary.  How cool is that?

 

Image

 

Actions

advocating

anticipating

building

delivering

developing

discovering

focusing

following

improving

knowing

listening

maintaining

managing

meeting

responding

providing

supporting

understanding

 

 

Components and descriptors

assistance

awareness

commitment

complaints

concerns

continuous

excellence

expectations

flexibility

feedback

impact

information

innovative

leadership

opportunities

outcomes

partners

pressures

quality

questions

relationships

resources

results

satisfaction

stakeholders

standards

strategic

team

time

value

 

From → Smarter worker

5 Comments
  1. VanessaVaile permalink

    Neat ~ I’d been wondering about using Wordle like this and can’t wait to try it out. Text analysis version of extreme scrap…

    • Glad you enjoyed it! I was able to use it again today with a similar but different set of text and then draw comparisons between the two, which was WAY easier than reviewing the texts as wholes. If you create the Wordle and then look under Language> Show word counts, you’ll see the list of the 150 words it picked up on and the count for each. This was particularly helpful for me. You can also set it to a lower number of words if that fits your situation. Have fun with it and thanks for reading and commenting!

  2. Good thinking brainysmurf! I’ve used Tagxedo rather than Wordle but I’m not sure how they compare.
    Gordon

  3. On http://www.txt2pic.com you can make more images with your text.

Please share your thoughts here...

