Skip to content

Morning routine for knowledge workers

April 11, 2012

Working from home for the past few months, I’ve started to recognize a pattern of behaviour that was equally true for me at the office. Participating in #change11 and #cck12 has also helped me to become better at recognizing patterns, so I am grateful for that.

When I first sit down to the computer each morning, caffeine in hand, I start with something relatively mindless or low-impact.  I might log in to my social networking sites, glance over The Daily newsletters for my moocs or look for comments on my blog.  I don’t start rewriting documents, reviewing reports or composing any lengthy emails for work right away. It’s like I need to warm-up to the more intense volumes of knowledge work before I can dive right in.  This might last 15-30 minutes, depending on how many high-priority items are waiting for me to actually get my head in the game.

As noted earlier in my blog, I don’t harvest any feeds from social networks or news site into my email so I’m thankfully not bombarded in that way.  I also don’t use any mobile devices for anything more than phone calls or occasional photos so no deluge of information there, either.

Are these just personal preferences of mine?  Am I demonstrating an approach to knowledge work that is typical of my generation, one that remembers a non-digital place, pace and time?

Have I simply learned how to stretch my mental muscles gradually so that I can build up the endurance level that I know I will need to get through the remainder of the day?

What do other folks do?  And do the youngest digital citizens need this warm-up at all?

From → Smarter worker

2 Comments
  1. The first time each day that I engage with any device – be it smartphone, iPad, laptop, workstation – I begin with an e-mail and social network review. While I do agree that this helps to put my brain in “go” mode, the process also serves to orient me in my world. The days of checking a calendar page to predict the flow of any given day are gone, no? I don’t miss them 😉

  2. That’s true, the review process orients us to the new or shifted priorities that may have emerged since we were last online. Thanks for this! 🙂

Please share your thoughts here...

