Skip to content

Networked learning: the crab apple tree

April 6, 2012

In a fit of inspiration this afternoon, I have compiled my first mind map of networked learning, based on my experiences in the #plenk2010, #cck11, #cck12, #change11 and #ds106 moocs to date.

I placed on the trunk the word that I consider to be most important of all: choose (thank you to the movie Dangerous Minds for sealing that into my long-term memory). From there, I brainstormed the actions that I believe to be crucial for networked learning.  As I went along, the concepts seemed to form fairly natural categories for the who, what, where, when, why and how of networked learning.  Notably, those categories are not always discrete in this context so I have left some overlap between them and, in many cases, the location and proximity of the specific words reinforce their relatedness.

The background image is one of my favourite trees: the flowering crab apple.  We had several of these gorgeous trees in our yard when I was a child.  It has thousands of little branches and petals, which seemed fitting for networked learning.

I don’t recall seeing one as a young adult so I was delighted to rediscover them a few years ago outside the building in which I was living.  The scent is so delicious, nearly edible, and I am grateful for every breath of it before big gusts of wind or rain knock all the petals to the ground.  We’re a few weeks away from the crab apple trees blossoming this year.  I can’t wait.

Comments on this mind map are welcomed at any time.  Happy spring!

Mindmap networked learning (PDF version)

From → Smarter worker

5 Comments
  1. Tereza permalink

    🙂 good tree!

  2. Very impressive Brainysmurf! I’m usually too lazy to bother with other people’s mindmaps but yours is straightforward in concept as well as thought provoking. I like the uniformity of design and the colour and I like the way you deal with the non-discrete categories by letting the onlooker ponder over where the boundaries should lie. I also like NOT having to engage in multiple clicking for further info! Nice!
    Gordon Lockhart

    • Thanks so much, Gordon! I was aiming for a uniform design and I’m glad that others can interpret the proximity of words into whichever categories make sense (or none at all, as preferred). Keep well and thanks for making time, both for consuming this artifact and for contributing your reflections. Cheers!:)

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Networked learning: the crab apple tree | Voices in the Feminine | Scoop.it

Please share your thoughts here...

