Skip to content

Hunting for those coloured eggs just got easier

February 4, 2012

Over the past 10 days, I have taken up the arduous task of moving my bookmark collection from SharePoint to Diigo, manually, one link at a time (gasp!)  My efforts paid off this afternoon when I made the leap from clockwatcher to knowmad because I no longer have access to my corporate systems.  I’m also hopeful that my collection will be of interest to my fellow moocers in #ds106, #cck12 and #change11.

At first, I was blown away by how tedious the task was: open each item in a link library in SharePoint 2003 (SP), decide if it’s still worth sharing, click on the Diigolet toolbar (an add-on to Internet Explorer 8, cool!), bookmark the link and tag it appropriately.  Believe me, in IE8 with a big corporate firewall in the way, that can take some time!

Here’s what I learned from the process:

1. There were obvious ways to migrate delicous bookmarks to Diigo but I didn’t see anything for SharePoint or an Excel spreadsheet or similar.  Maybe I missed it and should have Googled my problem a bit further?

2. I had exported my SP links library to an Excel spreadsheet (lovely, easy) but it put the title of the link in the same cell so none of the links came up as clickable.  Oh well, so much for that idea.

3. Painstakingly reviewing about 350 links helped to reinforce why I’d saved them all in the first place.  I was an early adopter of SP so building a links library that thousands of my colleagues could look at seemed like a decent leap forward from my personal IE bookmarks.  Sure, I’d heard about delicious and Diigo from an even earlier-adopter friend a couple of years ago but I didn’t ‘get it’ about social media back then.

4. Some of the visual stimuli on those older links brought back thoughts and reinforced knowledge that is useful to my current circumstances.  If you have the patience, try culling your bookmarks and you’ll see what I mean.  I moved 250 links to Diigo and I am proud of what they represent for my growing interest in social, networked learning, design, collaborative technology, leadership and change.

5. Only a handful of links were broken, so that speaks to the stability of the platforms that I tend to bookmark (industry magazines, Internet Time Alliance and other notable bloggers).

6. My immersion in social media over the past year has reduced my attention span to about 3 seconds.  You either capture my interest in that time frame or you don’t get another chance.  Pages that scroll down more than double the length of a screen generally don’t work for me anymore.  Plain language = good.  Weighty academic language = not my speed anymore.

7.  I’m a little ticked that Diigo doesn’t let me share a link with more than one group at a time.  I looked into the Diigo help and found a voting system to amplify this recommendation for the developers.  My three votes were piled on yesterday and hopefully my hashtags will help to compensate.

8. Multiple tags are so delightful!  It was difficult in SP to decide on the one best link to categorize something by topic.  I’m glad to be done with that for awhile.  Maybe it will be easier to tag items when my workplace moves to SP 2010.  However, SP is still inside a corporate bubble and, this week, I made the bubble pop.

Please feel free to follow my library, if you’re interested.  And let me know what you think of social bookmarking in general (any platform).

Keep hunting! 🙂

From → Smarter worker

Leave a Comment

Please share your thoughts here...

